How do I use the Files tab?

You can easily upload, store, find, follow, share, and collaborate on Salesforce files in the cloud using the Files tab. This includes files you own or have access to from Chatter, Salesforce CRM Content, and files posted to feeds on the Home tab, Chatter tab, a profile, a record, or a group. All file types, up to 100 MB, are supported, including everything from Microsoft® PowerPoint presentations and Excel spreadsheets, to Adobe® PDFs, image files, audio files, and video files. All files you own or have access to from the All Files, Recently Viewed, My Files, Files Shared with Me, Files in My Groups, or Files in My Workspaces list views are available to share or attach to posts on Chatter feeds.

Files Tab

Files TAB

On the Files tab, see all the files you own or have access to and click on specific list views on the sidebar to see a certain group of files:

  • All Files shows all of the files you own or have access to.
  • Recently Viewed shows the most recent files you've viewed.
  • My Files shows all of the files you own.
  • Files Shared with Me shows all files that have been shared with you either by a private share or a public post to your profile.
  • Files in My Groups shows all files you or other people attached to groups you're a member of.
  • Files in My Workspaces shows all files you and other people uploaded to workspaces you're a member of and all files you uploaded to your personal workspace.

You can easily upload, store, find, follow, share, and collaborate on Salesforce files in the cloud using the Files tab. This includes files you own or have access to from Chatter, Salesforce CRM Content, and files posted to feeds on the Home tab, Chatter tab, a profile, a record, or a group.

Upload A Flie

Upload A Flie

Upload a file to My Files on the Files tab where you can store, preview, download, follow, and search for the file.

Click Upload a File to upload a private file to My Files.

You own files you upload.

Files are uploaded as private, not shared with anyone, and you are the file owner. Only file owners and users with the “View All Data” permission can see private files.  Private files are indicated by the word “Private” and a lock file lock icon on the file's detail page, and by a lock file lock icon on file lists.

Files Filter

Files Filter

See all the files you own or have access to and click on specific list views on the sidebar to see a certain group of files:

  • All Files shows all of the files you own or have access to.
  • Recently Viewed shows the most recent files you've viewed.
  • My Files shows all of the files you own.
  • Files Shared with Me shows all files that have been shared with you either by a private share or a public post to your profile.
  • Files in My Groups shows all files you or other people attached to groups you're a member of.
  • Files in My Workspaces shows all files you and other people uploaded to workspaces you're a member of and all files you uploaded to your personal workspace. 
Files Search

Search for files using specific list views and by typing terms in the Files tab search box, or the search box at the top of the page. You can search by file name, description, owner, type, or within the file's text. The search results are filtered based on the terms entered.

Files List View

Files List View
  • Files are automatically added to one or more of the list views on the Files tab when:
  • You upload a file to My Files. The file is private and not shared with anyone, but you can view it, perform actions, and attach it to Chatter feeds.
  • You or someone else attaches a file to a Chatter feed on the Home tab, Chatter tab, a profile, a record, or a group. This includes files attached to all public groups, whether you're a member or not, and private groups you're a member of, but not private groups you're not a member of.
  • Someone else shares a file privately with you using the Sharing dialog box.
  • You upload a file to a Salesforce CRM Content workspace.
  • Someone else uploads a file to a workspace you're a member of.
  • You or someone else creates a content pack or uploads a Web link in Salesforce CRM Content. You only see files from content packs and Web links you have access to.

Open a file detail page by clicking a file name on the Files tab, on a Chatter feed, or on a group or profile files list. On the file detail page, you can see details about Chatter files and Salesforce CRM Content files, but you can only perform actions on Chatter files. To perform actions on files that originated in Salesforce CRM Content, click Go to Content Detail Page.

Following Files

Following Files
  1. Click Follow to see a file's updates in the Chatter feed on the Home tab and Chatter tab.
  2. Click Following to stop seeing a file's updates in the Chatter feed.

File Detail Page

From a file detail page, you can:

  • Preview the file without downloading it. If the file has multiple pages, click on the enhanced document player or use the arrow keys on your keyboard to see each page, zoom in or out, or change the preview width and screen size. Files owners and anyone with access to the file can preview it.

NOTE: Not all files can be previewed, such as copy-protected PDFs, unknown file types, and any file larger than 25 MB. For files that can't be previewed, the Preview option isn't available on feeds or list views, and files appear as generic file type icons in the feed. Some Microsoft Office 2007 features don't display correctly in previews.

  • See if the file is private (file lock), privately shared (Privately Shared), or shared with your company (Company-wide). When you upload a file to My Files, it is private and only available to you. When you share a private file or attach a private file to a Chatter feed, it is no longer private.
  • Click green down arrow Download to open or save the file. Anyone who can see a file, can download it.
  • Click Share File to share a file with one or more specific people. Anyone who can see a file, can share it.
    1. Click Make private on the Sharing dialog box to remove the file from everywhere it's been shared.
    2. Or click Restrict access if the file originated in a Salesforce CRM Content workspace. Only owners and user's with the “Modify all Data” permission can make a file private (file lock) or restrict access.
    3. Click Upload New Version Upload New Version to update the file with a newer version.

NOTE: Only file owners can upload a new version of a file.

  • Click Edit Details to edit the name or description of the file. Only file owners and users with the “Modify All Data” permission can edit file details.
  • Click Delete to delete the file. Only file owners and users with the “Modify All Data” permission can delete files.
  • See who the file is owned by and when it was last modified.
  • See the file's current version number and click Show all versions to see the file's version history.
  • See the file's description and click the edit icon (Edit File) to edit the description, or add a description by clicking Add Description.
  • Click Follow button Follow to follow the file or click blue X button to stop following the file.
  • See who's following the file.
  • See who and what locations the file is shared with.

It the file originated in Salesforce CRM Content, click Go to Content Detail Page to see the content detail page of that file.   Any actions performed on files that originated in Salesforce CRM Content must be done on the file's content detail page instead of the file detail page.